top of page

Blood Sweat & BBQ- Pecan Lodge, Deep Ellum


Form the moment you stand in the line on Main that wraps around the block to when you feel the cool breeze when you walk in the door you are instantly immersed in everything that is Pecan Lodge. You could stand in line for an hour or two but it is well worth the timeless wait. Just grab your crew, settle in, people watch and get ready for some epic BBQ in the most up and coming part of Dallas.


After you make your way through the double doors which might as well be heavens pearly gates you are greeted with the fantastic AC and tons of articles and pictures on the wall of memories and memoires of past and present at this establishment. There have been countless well known visitors and articles and you might just find yourself reading as you go.


Once you get up to the counter to pay, which I might add you cannot get a table until you have your receipt and order number. You will completely change your mind on your order based on the specials of the day and you might even have some tamales. (Strange I know but trust me... Once you go there). I ordered the brisket and burnt ends with a side of bacon mac. I am a gluten for punishment so I knew what I was about to get into, and I knew a serious food coma would be happening shortly.


The wait for food was not long at all. I was actually impressed. When you have waiting an hour in line and food comes out in less than five minutes you are left with your head tilted and your mouth open just like the cutest German Shepard puppy that you have ever seen.


Seated and savoring the meat just fell apart and the burnt ends were enormous. They do not skimp on portions and I had a full pound of meat on my plate. You are always welcome to the hot BBQ sauce or sweet sauce that are always readily available on the tables but if you are like me you always have to taste the meat first to real get a feel for how much time and effort went into creating this delectable meat. It did not disappoint. It was perfect. Crispy outside, moist and juicy on the inside of the burnt ends with the proportionate fat. Brisket was moist and tender.


Now, the mac and cheese is not for the faint of heart it is full of different cheeses as to top it off bacon pieces. If I wasn't such a BBQ fanatic I would say that the mac and cheese was almost worth coming for in itself! So good and so satisfying.


After the fantastic meal I was left full and almost rolling out the front door, but you still have to leave room for a slice of pie which happens to be next door. (hint, hint). It was great. Well worth the wait and I will frequent way more often now that I have found this gem. I would rate it definitely in the top five BBQ joints in Texas and at least top ten in the United States.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page